All Creatures of Our God and King

Today I was singing this song out on the prairie. I tried to sing it in the basement but I was shy about singing too loud for fear someone would here me. In spite of trying hard and even taking a few lessons from a brilliant young teacher I don’t think I sound very good.

But my heart was in it. I love the song, words by Saint Francis of Assisi, patron saint of animals. I did want all creature , the sun and the clouds to join my song, my feeling of gratitude and I was singing for all I was worth, as loud as I wanted.

I could see a few antelope in the distance browsing. I was delighted to see them moving closer, almost like they recognized the song or maybe felt my invitation to join me. They stopped and were a short stones throw away for a very long time.

20140512-215605.jpg

I layed the dogs down so they wouldn’t chase them off.

20140512-215742.jpg
And kept singing.

It was all rather magical. The antelope, the dogs watching, me and the meadow larks singing. And have you ever noticed how a meadow lark’s song sound like the Alleluia of that song? Quite the experience today. I do love the prairie.

2 responses to “All Creatures of Our God and King

  1. How wonderful. So glad you had this blessed experience. *hugs* ♥

  2. What a lovely experience! I too love that hymn.

Leave a Reply

