Picking up Strays

Well, I wanted to go to church today but I had to thank God at home that all went as well as it did this year and especially yesterday in the fog.

It always take 2 days to move cows, I find: the day you move them and the day you look for any that got missed. Today we found 7 pairs that got missed yesterday in the fog. (Never mind cows, it’s funny we didn’t loose any of the riders.) I let these girls stop here at this little slough to have a drink before I moved them to the corrals. They were so sweet when they saw me, they ran to the gate (so I didn’t miss it, I guess) and waited till I opened it and went in to tell them where to go.

This magpie was very interested in all the goings on.

I thought he matched Blue, being they are both black and white, and tried to get them in the same shot but by then the magpie was flying.

So a pretty short, not very eventful day, and it was so much nicer than yesterday. We’re still short a cow or two so I guess we’ll be hunting for them this week.

I promised someone I would add a picture or two of a couple of the horses here, so these are for her.

Buddy, Yoda, and Clyde

Notice who was the first one to come for oats (Yoda).

And while I was unsaddling and around the barn I couldn’t help but notice the predicament the little yard lion on the right was in. He couldn’t figure out how to get from the board he was on to where his mama and much braver brother were.

And honestly, I do have the cutest puppy.

 

 

 

8 responses to “Picking up Strays

  1. Your puppy is adorable! And I think I might want a kitten or two after watching yours 🙂

  2. Im pretty sure God was with you on Sunday 😉

    I could “feel” the sun in your pictures ~ nice capture!

  3. Hate to admit but I missed Chruch yesterday as well, and it was not for the noble cause of cow need to be moved….or the “ox” was in the ditch. I ran off and went deer hunting with my DH and Youngest. Didn’t get a deer, but say some pretty country that I thanked the Good Lord for.
    Love seeing your pictures. I want to visit 🙂 🙂
    ~M~

  4. Awwww….that IS the cutest puppy :))

  5. That dog!…..Where do they get taught to pose like that? …There must be a special “Cute Dog” posing school!!Lol!

  6. Yeah, they don’t come much cuter than that!

  7. Oh you do have the cutest puppy! Look, he’s sitting on his hip. My Baby does that when I ask her if she wants to be picked up. She stops and then plops on her hip. That the signal to be picked up. When you only have 4 inch legs they get tired fast while trying to keep up. She gets carried a lot.~Ames

  8. Adorable pup,and kittens. And some good looking horses there,I like!
    Glad you are getting the stragglers in .Hope you get to church for next Sunday.
    I know the sancuary and fellowship bring comfort , but the prayers and thanks are heard anywhere I believe

Leave a Reply

