Rubies

The picture I’m working on is of a horse named Tater but his moma’s name is Ruby. That got me to thinking about Rubies.

I heard once that a large ruby is worth more than a diamond of the same size. I don’t know much about either gems except that they are valuable and one is red (sorrel) and the other is more white. I  wondered how valuable would a little sorrel mare be for her folks to have chosen Ruby for her name?

And it mentions rubies in the book of Proverbs in the Old Testament, last chapter. I thought a lot about what it says there and read a few things too and made up this chart to help me make sense of it in my mind. Just thought I’d share it.

You’ll have to click on it to make it larger to read it I think. I found it helped me know what kind of woman I wanted to be.

9 responses to “Rubies

  1. “Strength and dignity are her clothing and she shall rejoice in days to come” def. a life verse lol!

  2. Dear 3C, Today I attended the serves of a friend who pasted way last week.
    She is only two years older than I am.
    I don’t know what it means, but the paster read of Rubies.
    I can’t even tell you my thoughts when I heard him reciting the
    words I had just read the day before here on your page.
    I just felt the need to tell you…….Sam

  3. Rubies are more valuable than diamonds because they are more rare (that is true gems, not man made ones)
    My father in law is from Greece and his wedding ring is a large gold band with a HUGE ruby, about the size of his thumb nail. Beautiful ring. He won’t get it appraised because 1) “you don’t take off your wedding ring” and 2) he’s worried something will happen to it. We told him it should be appraised IN CASE something happens to it.

  4. That reminds me of a horse Bonnies friend has that was named Ruby, we saw her and she was grey, lol oops.

  5. really sorry to hear you arent to good. I do hope things get better for youa nd your family.

  6. Nice job on the translation. One of the things I like about the Bible is the layers upon layers of meaning that can be found in the Scriptures. Just as you understand one aspect of it, another reveals itself to you.

  7. Hi 3C, Thank you for sharing. Sounds like your feeling better.

  8. Thoughtful post.
    Hope you’re feeling better. ♥

  9. That is certainly a daunting list but one that is full of qualities worth striving for

Leave a Reply

