Daily Archives: January 11, 2011

Tenderhearted

I might seem odd for an old cowgirl to be thinking about dolphins

(This is a picture is a file from the Wikimedia Commons, a freely licensed media file repository.)

“Various scientists who have researched Dolphin behaviour have proposed that their unusually high intelligence compared to other animals means that dolphins should be seen as non-human persons that should have their own specific rights, and that it is morallyunacceptable to keep them captive for entertainment purposes, or to kill them; either intentionally for consumption or as by-catch.” from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolphin

The older I get the more tender my heart becomes. Last night I watched a documentary about the dolphin capture and slaughter in the Taiji, Japan.  I really don’t know any dolphins personally and I’m not sure how they can touch the heart of a prairie girl when they are so foreign to my experience here, but . . .  oh my, they do.

If anyone from Japan every reads this, please know that many, even old cowgirls out on the plains of Alberta, who have never even seen one up close, are horrified at the brutal slaughter and consumption of dolphins that goes on in your country every year.

I’m not one to just complain. I plan to boycott any places that have dolphins as attractions and will be voicing my opinions to such places as well. If no one pays to see them there will be no market for them and these animals whose brain cavity is larger than our own will not be imprisoned or slaughtered.

Please go here to see what you can do to help.

 

