Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!

I woke up around 2:30 because I was cold and wandered out of the bedroom to find the rest of the house colder feeling too and with the furnace running steady. I looked at the thermometer

(It’s at -36 degrees)

My cowboy heard that at 7:30 with the windchill it was 45 degrees below Celsius which is  minus 48 Fahrenheit.

It’s been the kind of winter I remember as a kid. The year I was 11 it didn’t get above -20 Fahrenheit for 2 weeks and many of those days with the wind chill it was-60 degrees. It was no wonder I froze my fingers when I walked a mile to school, uphill both ways 🙂

 

13 responses to “Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!

  1. They don’t even allow our kids to wait outside in weather like that. They cancel school. A while back we were around the 0 degree F mark and they cancelled school but a little girl didn’t know about it and she walked halfway to school and got near a car dealership and walked in and asked if she could stand in the building to warm herself up. I think she was a 2nd grader. They called her parents who came and picked her up since school was cancelled…. but brrr!

  2. Uphill both ways–I’d believe that with those kind of temps–everything is uphill!! That’s dangerously cold. We had -20 here last week and we’re expecting it again this week. I don’t see how you do it all that time. Brrrr indeed!!!

  3. Just reading how cold it is there makes me want to put another layer on. It’s “only” freezing here but tood cold for me. I can only imagine what your power bill must be with temps like that. OUCH!!

    Stay safe and warm. They tell me spring is coming but I’m yet to believe them.

  4. I am grateful today is better! 🙂 I won’t need a ski doo suit to get up and go to the bathroom at night now. 😉

  5. Yup that falls under the” HolyCrapitscold” heading! stay warm my friend!Spring will come

  6. Yep, I had to walk uphill too!

  7. Brr! We got a taste of winter today, hasn’t been above 16 degrees and the windchill was -1 this morning. We desert rats aren’t used to this! We have no water in the kitchen, but thankfully it’s still running in the bathroom. Tomorrow is supposed to be even colder. My poor honey is having to cut ice in all the troughs, and his heater is broke!

  8. Bundle up and keep warm!

  9. I cannot even. imagine.
    The worst I did was a survival trip in MT where it got below zero while we were sleeping in the tent. It was cold, but not THAT cold.
    Hang in there!

  10. We are having the same below 0 temps here, I’m so ready for spring!

  11. Hey, you had the same kind of weather and route to school that I did! :0)
    Hope you can stay warm, your critters too.

  12. Darn, that’s cold. Makes our cold look like nothing. (You must have strong legs from all that uphill walking!)

  13. I have never had to experience temperatures below freezing. I cannot even imagine what it would be like! But I do love the open plains…

Leave a Reply

