Just Call Me Tired

Again. The cold makes me tired and I guess the work. But who wouldn’t love all those hungry faces.

The weather is a hard deal for calving this time of year. This morning I was sure hoping nothing was going to get born because they would have been little calf popsicles in 2 minutes with the cold and wind that was blowing.

I love being outside but today I was glad to be in the bin (with my dust mask on) filling buckets with chop, out of the wind. And then in the barn feeding and watering, out of the wind.  Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day.

8 responses to “Just Call Me Tired

  1. Oh and one is at work with my mom today in her office.

  2. We’ve had 6 baby lambs born since yesterday at noon and weather around here is nuts for us. My dad said we’ve only been able to save 2 of them 😦

  3. Calf popsicles? Sure hope not! I think the weather forecast for Alberta is warm weather this week.

  4. Little calf popscicles wouldn’t be good. I hope those mom’s hold onto their little bundles.

    The cold wears me out too. I am so much more tired when I get done with my day when it is cold and wet does me in to.

  5. I don’t understand why people want to calve this time of year. If they think they are getting a head start making bigger bulls they need to consider the ones they lose as popsicles.

  6. I’m ready for spring, too. Hopefully the cows will wait until then. 🙂

  7. I really feel for you! It must be cold up there. Still, the inside job is the way to go!

  8. Frozen ears and feet are a big risk in the wind and cold. for you and the calves , stay warm! hope the weather turns in your favor soon

Leave a Reply

