No Stopping Spring Now

What a lovely Sunday, I talked on the phone to my cousin and her husband that live in Wales today. I’ve seen a robin, the geese are honking overhead, and I heard a bird singing outside my bedroom window this morning.

I can see something besides snow even though it snowed yesterday. The sun has too much power and things are going to melt even though Narnia’s ice queen has been trying to take over.

The drifts will take time to melt. This is in front of the gate that goes West into what we call the Middle field, about 4000 acre field or pasture.

My cowboy is 6 foot tall so you can see how tall the drifts are, and that’s after they have been melting some.

I always think of us as having no cows but we actually bought a couple this year plus a couple of late last years calves we fed through this horrible winter. And if you look really close at the cow way off in the distance, you will see someone who had a birthday today. He or she is only minutes old. Born on the snow and already up getting a belly full of warm milk. I love birthdays!

7 responses to “No Stopping Spring Now

  1. Yey, spring’s a comin your way!

  2. I do believe that this is the happiest time of year for folks with cattle. Even though there is all this snow and muck, with the sun shining and new lil babes on the ground-your heart can’t help but be encouraged.

    My husband saw our first robin, too, yesterday! I get a chuckle out of all the gophers running all over the snow too. 🙂

  3. I see (small) spots of bare ground, there’s hope for you yet 🙂 Lol, love the reference to Narnias Ice Queen, it does seem like she tried awful hard to take over this winter.

  4. So glad spring is on the way, but you sure have a lot more bare ground than us so far.

  5. Glad you had such a wonderful weekend! Hope you start seeing a lot of green soon! 🙂

  6. I think Spring is taking her time, but finally ,yup She is here!

  7. There’s just something about sunshine that makes you happy especially at this time of year. I had a happy day too.

Leave a Reply

