Gelbveih, Schmelveih

Some days are just bad, for one reason or another. The reason today was Gelbvieh cows. Might as well have been moving a herd of mice.

Have I ever said I hate Gelbveih cows.

In my book they are right up there will Charolais Bulls. Not that they are mean they just have NO herd instinct. I suspect if they aren’t in a 40 acre pasture tittilated with a bale truck or a bucket the owners  can’t even do anything with them. They sure don’t belong out on the range upsetting all the nice cows and running meat off the other members calves.

So any of you Gelbveigh owners out there, I refuse to apologize for  my feelings about these cows and if you think I’m wrong I invite you to come move cows with me sometime. In fact I dare you. And when you’ve had enough of that we’ll start pulling the Charolais bulls.

7 responses to “Gelbveih, Schmelveih

  1. Never spent much time with that breed. My issues are with Limo’s and Charolais. But, iguess to each thier own . Unless they are on a community pasture making someones life miserable

  2. haha 🙂 Well at least you aren’t dealing with Santa Gertrudis, they won’t stay in fences. They are Houdini’s 🙂

  3. I’ve heard they are good for meat, but that’s all I know.
    Hope you all have a good weekend! 🙂

  4. I thought you had them trained? Always gotta be something that is a problem!

  5. I imagine that working with large herds of different breeds over the years you’ve got a pretty good idea of the best ones to work with. I’m betting Herefords?

  6. I’ve never been around Gelbveih cows, we have bulls though, and they seem like normal, to us. 😉
    Hope you guys are doing good!!

Leave a Reply

