Short Memory

Today was the first time I really appreciated having a short memory.

but not so short that I didn’t keep one arm length from the wooden boards so I could scramble up if I had too. It was the first time I faced a charolais on foot in the corral since that one that took me out for 6 weeks last year doing the same thing.

We moved a couple hundred pairs today out of a small field and out one gate. It was a super easy move and I brought Blue to let him work. It was just the right amount to help him feel good about himself but enough to poop him out pretty good. He sure has slowed down. But his son Gus is starting do his share. He reminds me a lot of Blue. I’m glad that little pup picked me last year.

This is my cowboy watching Pshaw do an awesome 1/4 mile outrun to pick up an old black cow and her calf that were hold up in some brush instead of moving with the bunch (down a hill where you can’t see them in the photo). He come back with a pretty big smile and bragging up his little girl dog.

Well, bulls I like to forget but not good days like today.

5 responses to “Short Memory

  1. Glad you had a good day and stayed safe!Nice for Blue to get some time in and that Gus is coming along so nicely . And Pshaw! what a girl!

  2. I’m not fond of bulls either…..we dealt with some today too 😦

  3. Did I ever mention that I love that name, Pshaw? How did you guys come up with that?

  4. Really glad to hear things went well today. 🙂

  5. A good dog is worth two cowboys on a working day. Did you get your other two pups sold?

Leave a Reply

