When Things Go Good

Even Gus was smiling today.

Many times as we are moving cattle or doing a particularly hard job I ask for help . . . and God sends it. We don’t see the old cowboys on horseback and a good dog or two but I’m sure they are there. Whenever I put in my request I can almost feel their excitement and appreciation for being asked to come and do what they love to do. It all just goes so wonderously smooth; there is no way it could go like that without help.

One of my favorite bible stories is the one I call the “Them That Be With Us” Story. I love the gentle, kind Elisha, successor to the dramatic, powerful Elijah whose life ended so dramaticaly by being taken up in a chariot of fire.

I always laugh when I read the story in 2 Kings chapter 6.  The mighty and powerful king of Syria can’t figure out what is going on and says to his servants that there must be a traitor in their midst, someone who is working for the king of Israel. One of the servants tell him, no it’s Elisha the prophet that “telleth the king of Israel the words that thou speakest in thy bedchamber.” So the king of Syria sends out spys to find out where Elisha is, in Dothan, then sends “horses and chariots, and a great host” in the night and they surround Dothan.

In the morning Elisha’s servant gets up early and discovers this, goes to Elisha and asks Elisha: What do we do now?. “And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them. And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.”

I love the old testament. Wouldn’t that make a great movie? There rest of the story I won’t paraphrase but it shows why I like Elisha so much. Well the point of all that is: Help’s there if we ask for it. I did today, got it, and this is, in part, my way of letting the Lord know how grateful I am for it.

4 responses to “When Things Go Good

  1. Such a great thing! Thanks for sharing!

  2. What a wonderful story and a wonderful blessing. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing , Glad it was a good day .

  4. Ask and ye shall receive… I too believe that there are souls who help us if we ask. I have asked, and been helped.
    Love the photo of Gus.

Leave a Reply

