Slowcooker Yoghurt/Healthy Smoothies

So since I’m on some kind of a roll here I thought I might as well show you all my slowcooker yoghurt. It’s so easy and so much cheaper than the store-bought stuff and I think it’s even better for you.

So you start by dumping 2 liters or.a half gallon of milk (I use 2%) into your slowcooker, put the lid on and turn it to low and let it cook for 2 1/2 hours. Then just unplug it (don’t open the lid) for 3 hours.

20111121-212030.jpg
Then take out a couple of cups of the warmish milk.

20111121-212457.jpg
Mix into the removed milk, yoghurt starter or 1/2 cup of store bought yogurt that has live bacterial culture.
I used the following:

20111121-212702.jpg
Mix it real well then dump the milk back into the slow cooker and mix it all together real well.

20111121-213027.jpg
Put the lid back on and with it still unplugged wrap it in a blanket and leave it for 7 hours.

20111121-213158.jpg
Put into clean containers (I use quart canning jars but just washed not sterilized). Store it in the frig. How easy is that?

It makes a runnyer type of yoghurt which is perfect for me because I want it to make smoothies like this.

20111121-213644.jpg
I don’t mesure just dump some into the blender.

20111121-213800.jpg
I buy lots of bananas when they are cheap and freeze them like this. So I add one of these frozen bananas to the yoghurt in the blender. And blend them together. The banana will make it sweet enough that I don’t feel like I need to add sugar or honey. Then I add a couple odd things

20111121-214154.jpg
Walnut oil seems to really help my old joints not to ache. Flaxseed oil helps my brain work so much better. Other people maybe wouldn’t notice the difference but because I’m ADD and my brain doesn’t function quite the same as most folks I can really feel the difference. It sometimes makes me gassy if I put too much in but I love the stuff for how well it helps me think and remember and focus (focus is really hard for me)

20111121-214740.jpg
and I’m partial to blueberries so I mix those in last.

20111121-215835.jpg
and voila! My favorite healthy drink.
So now you know all my secrets: grinding wheat into flour, no kneed bread, slowcooker yoghurt, and super healthy smoothies.

8 responses to “Slowcooker Yoghurt/Healthy Smoothies

  1. I didn’t know that about walnut oil. Now I have to go look for some!!
    Thanks for the education. Hug them Simmental!

  2. Well I for one am impressed! You know, all the time my husband was fighting cancer I made him eat blueberries everyday. And when they were out of season I bought frozen. They are a miracle food. His doctor still scratches his head at how well he is doing. I’ve enjoyed your post, and miss you! Happy Thanksgiving. ~Ames

  3. Oh no… my poor husband, now I’ve found something new I need to try! I’m constantly finding things like this and then having to try… LOL 🙂

  4. I love blueberries!
    I’m getting to where my joints could use a boost and my memory has been giving me no end of trouble, so I have bookmarked this and will be looking into those extras you mention.
    Any idea how much of each to add or should I just wait and see if I poot. 😉
    Thanks so much for this recipe! 🙂

  5. You amaze me every day! You need to make sure to write this down so I can put it in my cook book!

Leave a Reply

