His Buddy

20120914-093749.jpg
Buddy was diagnosed with navicular a year or so ago. It was devastating to the man I love who loves this horse.

We were about ready to put him down this fall. The horse hadn’t improved and he couldn’t figure out why my cowboy was riding every other horse. He tried taking him out a time or two and Buddy tried so hard but he was just so sore.

Kind of as a last resort we had the farrier put on Memphis Bar shoes. Bar shoes have a tendency to contract the heels because of the restricted movement at the heel. With these type of shoes the bar is more towards the horizontal centre of the shoe.

Well, the long and the short of it is that Buddy feels good enough now to go out and work a little, the odd day and not for too long. He’s a pretty happy boy, one of two happy boys. Which makes me happy too.

7 responses to “His Buddy

  1. My mom had a Cutting Horse that was diagnosed that. My mom loved that mare and still talks about her to this day but she wound up selling her to some people who used her for a brood mare.

  2. Glad to hear the new shoes are helping.
    Have a blessed week!

  3. I was glad to read “put him down” instead of taking him to the sale. I think he probably has earned a peaceful home going when the time comes, I can tell you all love him. So sorry he is having these problems, I know the Cowboy is hurting.

  4. I’m glad the shoes worked for Buddy. They didn’t help Jackson, unfortunately. He isn’t happy about not being worked either. It’s hard to be 10 years old and retired. I’m hoping he makes it through the winter. I thought we were going to have to put him down this past spring but he seems to be doing okay. I feel for your husband. It’s hard when a special horse gets navicular.

  5. So glad you can keep him happy and comfortable, a good horse like that is worth all you can do for him!

  6. With Sil we used a clear and blue hard rubber shoe that really helped. The vet also put him on warfarin for a short time to increase blood flow. This was several years ago but it did help him. My daughter rode him until he passed away a few years ago. Here is a link to an article I read, maybe EasyCare can help?
    http://myfineequine.com/peteramey.htm
    C

Leave a Reply

