Today

Today Pic looked better, at least not shivering. Some horse had bit him on the windpipe area. It was swollen but ok. I didn’t much care for the muck he was standing in but it has rained and there is bound to be mud.

He was glad to see me and tried to put the halter on himself. I found a saddle blanket and got him saddled and went for a ride. He tried so hard to be good and do exactly what I asked. I’m not sure what to do riding round and round in an arena. We are both used to just going to work.

He’s still his fidgety self but a little more settled. It was good just to be with him today.

3 responses to “Today

  1. glad he is doing better

  2. I am so glad you have him closer and you are getting to spend some time with him. I’m sure he missed you as much as you missed him. Once he knows he will see you more often he will settle in.

    My horses don’t love arena work, so sometimes we work imaginary cows. Mostly that just means me pushing his shoulders this way and that way, back up, moving the hip, etc. But some days, its nice to just lope break big circles, because that is what he loves to do most. 🙂

  3. I hope you can find some local trails to ride with him, maybe even just take him out on the prairie? If the land owners don’t mind, that is.

Leave a Reply

