People Friends

I have more than my share of animal friends. I like cows and horses and dogs and cats, about anything with four legs and bats and snakes aren’t that bad (they are just being them). Most all those are pretty predictable once you get to know them and that’s comforting. Not sure if you can say that about people. I find humans the most unpredictable creations.

I think I’m sensitive to clues animals give me but the unspoken clues, body language and such, of people I find I misread. I confess I’ve been really hurt by people and it has made me suspicious and uncomfortable around my own kind.

I think I must in some way I don’t understand come across badly when really I try to be honest and kind, work hard and do the right things. I have my problems, for sure, but often I wish people would give me the benefit of the doubt.

I have been betrayed by coworkers, employers, neighbors but I don’t think I’ve ever lost a friend once I made one . . . but they are always long in the making.

So to my people friends (including my blogging friends) I just wanted to say, I really appreciate you.

3 responses to “People Friends

  1. Animals are easier to read for sure and, like you, I have more animal friends than human ones. Nothin’ wrong with that.

  2. I feel the same way. I am much more at “home” with animals than I ever will be with people.

  3. There’s something to be said for being a hermit….

Leave a Reply

