Coyotes

We moved another group of cows today and it turned out to be hotter than we planned for. I try not to take my old dog when it gets so hot because he’s a really hard worker and that means he can get overheated. And that means I have to quit what I’m doing and take him to a dugout, dam, or tank for a swim whenever I get near one. He was headed there himself today and I had to trot my horse to keep up, especially when I saw the coyote near the dugout. I’ve had them attack him before and had to protect him more than once. They can be really gaully.

When Blue wasn’t much more than a pup, my husband kept yelling: “Look back!” which is a command we would give to our working dogs when they had left a cow or calf behind so I didn’t realize that his command was directed at me. When I finally did twig on and looked back there was a coyote stalking my young dog, only about 5 feet behind him.

Another time a male coyote literally attacked Blue every time I was more than 2 or 3 feet away. I took down my rope and tried roping that coyote but he stayed just out of reach. I tried just chasing him off with my horse but when I would leave Blue unprotected he would slip by me and attack him again. I finally had to get off my horse and stand over my dog, one leg on either side of him, till my cowboy rode up. The two horses and riders were more intimidating so I was able to get Blue away to safety.

I noticed that time that there was a female coyote and three pups, not far away, watching so I thought this was a family and the male was protecting what was his.

Today this sneaky coyote slipped behind the piled up dirt at the dugout and watched Blue swimming but didn’t cause us any grief. I think that’s a trick they use lots, sneaking behind a hill or using a low spot to keep out of site. I’ll have some pictures as soon as I can get them off my phone camera which my cowboy has right now.

IMG_8735.JPG

IMG_8736.JPGhe or she might be hard to see but you if look real hard you’ll see it.

One response to “Coyotes

  1. I’d be inclined to pack a rifle in a saddle scabbard in coyote country. They aren’t worth losing a good working dog.

Leave a Reply

