Last Minutes

Had to to take a break today.

IMG_8760.JPGThis is a picture of my last minutes with Pic. Not sure what it was exactly, other than just plain old age, but he was sick and I made the heart wrenching decision to do what was best for him.

It’s been a 17 year long friendship. We’ve done so much together. He’s had my life in his hands too often to count and always taken care of me, and so many cows we’ve helped or moved together. How will I ever manage without him?

I can say about him the best that can be said of any horse, that he was a cowhorse. To live a life of true partnership with an old cowgirl in service to the humble cow is a life well lived.

If the doors to Heaven are opened based on the service you have done for others then I know that Pic will qualify for entrance there. I’m sure God, Himself, was waiting at the gate to welcome my old cowhorse home.

IMG_8676.JPG

IMG_8634.JPG

IMG_8035.JPG

IMG_8026.JPG

IMG_8281.JPG

12 responses to “Last Minutes

  1. Oh no. I am so sorry. I know how much you loved Pic. How wonderful that his last moments were with your and the end of his years was spent on the prairie with his favorite cowgirl.

  2. Oh my, just reading this. So sorry you had to make that decision, but that’s what we have to do when we love them and they have served us well. Sucks. RIP Pic. Go find my mare, Sally, she’s a babe.

  3. So sorry to read this. But I believe if there is a rainbow bridge for dogs and cats, I’m sure horses can travel it, too. *hugs* and God bless.

  4. I’m so sorry you have lost your partner on the prairie.

  5. I am so sorry for the passing of ur faithful friend. ❤

  6. I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of your great friend and partner, Pic. The letting go is so very difficult to go through. Treasure your memories of a faithful cowhorse.

  7. I’m so sorry about Pic — its the hardest thing, letting them go. I’m sure he’ll be waiting for you on the other side of the Gate.

  8. Oh Linda, I am so sorry. May you have healing peace.
    Paula

  9. Linda, I’m sorry for your loss but grateful that YOU were fortunate enough to share that many years with a good cow horse. You are a lucky woman who was very blessed by the Man upstairs.

  10. Oh, Linda, I am so sorry. My heart goes out to you. Paula

  11. So sorry,Gal. Been there a few times. No one knows what friends we have in our horses. Pic will be meeting up with my buddies,Butte,Pawnee Star, and a few others. Will cry with you.

  12. Having read often about your Pic, I think I know how much you treasured him – & there is no doubt in my mind that Pic knew for sure.
    My condolences — losing a pet is painful & emotional, but losing a working partner is a whole ‘nother level of loss.

Leave a Reply

