My Cousin

I have always appreciated my dad being brave enough to immigrate to Canada. I’m sure I have had so many opportunities I would never have had if he had stayed in the old country. But. . . 

I have missed out on something special: my extended family there. I have always envied folks with big families: grandparents, brothers,  sisters,  aunts,  uncles, nieces, nephews, and cousins. 

Luckily some cousins came to visit us in Canada. But I wish I could have met everyone; I think I would understand myself better, seeing where I fit in and all. 

Of the few I’ve met I’ve always had a favorite. I talked to him on the phone today. It was like no time had passed and it’s been so many years. You know like those really special friendships you have that seem to transcend time and distance. 

Looks like things have fallen into place and I’m headed to Europe after all and he’s invited me to stay with him while I undergo the treatments I’m after. 

I’m scared (flying over a whole ocean) and thrilled at the same time (I’ll be there when the daffodils bloom in their spring) and more than a little worried about a barn cat (trying to become a city cat), an old cow dog (who has to walk on a leash in a park), and a soon to be lonesome cowboy. 

At the same time, I’m so thankful to my cousin.  

 

 

8 responses to “My Cousin

  1. So glad you will be able to go !

  2. I’ve been following you for only a short time but it has been a very intense time in your life. I am thrilled for you that things are falling into place so you can go to Europe for treatment. I have a large family but cannot think of one member who would do what your cousin is doing for you. You are a blessed woman. Please post a pic of the daffodils blooming, they are one of my favorites.

  3. Glad you are going! I wish you God’s healing and a Happy 2016! Everyone will be waiting for you at home with open arms when you return!

  4. Just another adventure, this one just a little farther away

  5. Godspeed my Friend.

  6. Oh that is great news, the best news to start off the new year! I’ve been praying for you every day.

  7. Wonderful news! I will be praying for you!

  8. Cousins Are truly a special gift . Praying that all falls into place for you .and all those you love ,remember animals are like children and they do adapt ,they just need to know they are loved all the more when life changes.

Leave a Reply

