The Treatment

I know you are curious about the treatment I have come to Latvia for so I’ll explain.

 As you know, in Canada we (cancer patients) are given 3 options: surgery, chemo, and radiation (affectionately know to cancer patients as cut, poison, burn). The first option was not offered me because of the location of my cancer. The last two are things that in themselves are cancer causing. There has been basically not much of a change in those for the last 40 years (???  Ask why not. You might be appalled at the answer). 

As I understand it, it was dicovered that people, a person that had cancer who contracted rabies was miraculously cured of cancer. This started the wheels turning in Latvia and a brilliant lady Dr ‘habil med’ (look this term up) Aina Muceniece started the process of developing the treatment I have come over a whole ocean for.

 In the 40 years in which no progress was made in NorthAmerica other than earlier detection so the nightmarish treatments could begin even sooner (and I might add skew the 5 year survival statistics) this treatment has passed all the necessary clinical trials and is now available by prescription here in Latvia. Note: This was during a turbulent time and the collapse of the Soviet Union I’m sure must have caused delays and difficulties for the research team.  

The side effects from this are a slight fever which I have already experienced and I can tell you is much preferred over the side effects of conventional cancer treatments. 

Here I have had a CT, thorough blood work, met with an oncologist, immunologist, and nutritionist over a 4 day period (all very low stress) and had 3 intramuscular injections. 

The treatment itself, for the next three months, will consist of the same type of injection once per week.  At the end of that time I will be reassessed through blood tests sent to Latvia and my treatment plan will be reworked. It will not be more shots per week but may be less. 

I have a very good prognosis because of my decision to avoid chemo and radiation till I could try this. Thus I am basically healthy ( except I have cancer), I have already improved my lifestyle signicantly, I came early enough, and because of the type of cancer I have. 

Many people do not start searching for anything like this until all conventional options have proved unable to help and come with stage IV cancers and they may not have sufficient time for this type of treatment to work. It is not an aggressive therapy and works more slowly over time. 

I will write more about it as time passes and let you know how it goes. So far I am very impressed with everything that has been done for me, with the medical community here, and of course this beautiful city that has captured my heart. 

4 responses to “The Treatment

  1. Amazing, Cowgirl. I’m glad you were able to research and do what you are doing. I’m glad it’s working and you are happy. God bless!

  2. I think you are incredibly brave & pro-active.

  3. Cancer treatment in North America is not treatment. It’s income for the cancer industry. It’s greed and not compassion, even though it’s marketed that way.
    Prayers that you will completely be healed.

  4. My friend,

    I have been pouring over your blog this morning – catching up – wanting to send you an email and can’t find an address on here.

    Sending prayers across the world, from my snowy home on the prairies to right where you are – in the palm of God’s hand. Sending love to you today. Praying that in quietness and trust, that may be your strength.

Leave a Reply

