Letter Home

Just thought I’d share what I wrote home this morning. 

Hi Sweetheart, 

Yesterday someone who read my blog said she loved how I spoke about you there. All I could say was I was married to my hero, and you are. 

I was in quite the panic last night I thought there was some thing wrong with my email as it didn’t want to work. I tried before bed but it still wasn’t working. It seems to be fine this morning at 5:00 am so I think that’s why I’ve been restless all night and didn’t sleep well. I feel better now that I can email you. 

Yesterday among other wonderful adventures, I got to visit with my cousin Jean and her husband Oh my, what a wonderful character. She reminded me so much of my aunt Mary, dad’s sister. I loved her to bits. She just says if she thinks something’s not right. Her and Mair seem to have very definite opinions (with no apologies). It just makes me laugh with the sheer joy of knowing them. I am so much like them and they can see how I fit right. They all say it’s like they have known me all their life. I wish you were here with me to see it. You would laugh too. Remember how dad loved to tease and laugh? They are like him. My dad, bless his good heart, I’m sure is smiling at how good his family here has been to me. I really needed them. 

I’m so thankful to have been driven by Cancer to fly across the ocean to be so blessed by their kindness and to come to the homeland that has always been part of me, even though I had never been here. 
Today I think Noella,  is coming from Machynlleth to Aberdyfi  to see me. I sure hope she can make it. Alun thinks she’s the spitting image of Grandma (Mam Jones they call Grandma). 
Everyone just seems so thrilled to meet me. I think they were worried what I would be like and are so relieved that I am so much like them. I wish I had come sooner. I would have had a lot better self esteem. And seen how I fit in the world better. I wish you could have been here with me and now I wish all the kids and grandchildren could see this side of the family. The Welsh in general are so wonderful and Wales is so beautiful, especially the wild parts. 
  
It reminds me of that line in the movie Robin Hood with Kevin Costner where Morgan Freeman says “only in my minds eye have I imagined a place so beautiful.” That describes Wales to a t. Only I would have added “and a people so good hearted ” no wonder they love to sing Calon Lan. 
It’s much prettier in Welsh but this is the nearest translation:
Calon lan

I don’t ask for a luxurious life,

the world’s gold or its fine pearls,

I ask for a happy heart,

an honest heart, a pure heart.
A pure heart full of goodness

Is fairer than the pretty lily,

None but a pure heart can sing,

Sing in the day and sing in the night.

If I wished for worldly wealth,

It would swiftly go to seed;

The riches of a virtuous, pure heart

Will bear eternal profit.
(Chorus)

Evening and morning, my wish

Rising to heaven on the wing of song

For God, for the sake of my Saviour,

To give me a pure heart.
(Chorus)
I’d not ask a life that’s easy,

Gold and pearls so little mean,

Rather seek a heart that’s joyful,

Heart that’s honest, heart that’s clean.
(Chorus)

Heart that’s clean and filled with virtue,

Fairer far than lilies white,

Only pure hearts praise God truly,

Praise him all the day and night.

Click here to hear it in Welsh
…………………………………………………………….

That’s why I named our cat Lily Dlos which I learned from that song means Pretty Lilly. 

Apparently they sometimes sing that at the rugby matches (gosh those welsh rugby players make all those northamerican football players look like big pansies). I’ve developed a real taste for rugby at least when Wales is playing. I don’t know where they found all those giant Welshman. It sure wasn’t anyone from my family lines. Lol. 
Well I think I’ll go have shower and wash my hair this morning. I really love you and miss you but I can’t help but love Wales and my family here too. 
XxxxxxxxxxxxxOooooooooooooo

Mam Jones

2 responses to “Letter Home

  1. JoAnn Marshall

    You are truly a God loving precious lady! Have a wonderful day!

  2. What a beautiful letter! I couldn’t be happier for you. I had an uncle (by marriage) that was Welsh, and what an incredible character he was! Never a dull moment with him. I think you missed your calling, you are an amazing writer. You should put all these experiences together into a book form. I would be the first one to buy it! God bless….

Leave a Reply

