Sauerkraut 

What I don’t know about sauerkraut would fill volumes but since I’m going to a plant based diet I found a wonderful home for my favorite little milk kephir family of grains and started sauerkraut which can give you almost the same kind of probiotics. 

Who knew?

I ate sauerkraut before but I didn’t even know it was raw cabbage ( I knew the cabbage part) fermented in a brine (salt and it’s own juice). Just chopped cabbage and sea salt. 

Seems pretty simple to make. (No cooking! Yay!)

 I’ll let you know how it goes in a few days. Like my cowboy says,  “if it doesn’t work, all were out is a head of cabbage and a little salt.”

PS: I used a baggie full of water on top of the cabbage in the jar to hold it under the brine. They use plates or something like it with a weight on top when folks make it in crocks. I just had this old pickle jar and no crock so it needed some improvisation. 

4 responses to “Sauerkraut 

  1. I had sauerkraut soup once, it was really good.

  2. My mom used to make it in a large crock and then add a plate to cover and weight it down. She then filled a quart jar with water and sit it on top of the plate.

  3. It should work out. Let us know! Have a good week! God Bless!

  4. Hmmmm. I have never fermented anything but yogurt, and water kefir, and now milk kefir. I follow a group on Facebook called Wild Fermentation, but not too seriously. I have never heard of the water filled baggie to hold it down however, seems pretty ingenious to me! I see all kinds of pictures of moldy ferments and that pretty much did it for me! I wish you luck with yours, I would love to hear how you like it when it is done…if you can tell when that is…?

Leave a Reply

