Daily Archives: April 14, 2017

Dreams

They can be so odd, dreams can. Remembered, not rememberanced, delicious or terrifying, and some explain things, events, past and present and sometimes future.

Like Israel’s boy, Joseph, who was sold into Egypt I have dreamed dreams in times past and been given very specific interpretation of them. I’ve learned to pay attention to my dreams. 

Today’s dream: I’m in the passengers seat, my cowboy driving, in the dark down a mountain hiway. The road turns sharply left and too late I see that we are headed over the cliff. The car sails out over the edge and begins to fall.

 It is strangely quite, peaceful even. I can feel my breath stop and my stomach rise. Time slows immeasurably. I know when we hit the bottom we will die and I wait for it and we fall for ever so long. Before our cars crashes at the bottom I wake up, feeling almost cheated. 

I think this is where I am. I have irreversibly driven out over the cliff and just not hit the bottom yet. It’s an odd place to be-between no longer and not yet.