Prayer so Simple

 One of my greatest God-given blessings was to be a cowboy’s wife, even now: old and without much of our own, tired and retired, and stuck living in town-what a good life it was, what a privilege and blessing all those years out on the prairie with my cowboy. How I miss all that open sky, Heaven so close and prayer so simple. 

Prayer that timely rains would come and nuture the grass that in turn would grow up good weighty cattle. Prayer to know how best to serve the humble cow, how to work together with each other and with our partners: the horses, the dogs, and our Mother, Nature. Prayer for a kind heart and a noble character worthy of Home. 

Grass and sky, there’s nothing better. 

3 responses to “Prayer so Simple

  1. I loved this post and can relate so well. The best part of my life was living and raising my kids on a cattle ranch. We now live in town, 200 people! And it seems the peace that I found our in the wide open land cant be found here. Thank you for posting.
    ~M~

    • I commiserate my friend. It’s just not the same anywhere else is it. I think it’s because we live closer to the the spirit of the Lord without all the people/ town distractions to get in the way. It was the best part of my life too. Glad I’m not the only one. Love you.

  2. JoAnn Marshall

    Beautifully spoken! God Bless the Cowgirl!

Leave a Reply

