Daily Archives: October 9, 2011

Thanksgiving

For all my American friends and non-Canadian readers you might not realize but this is the weekend of Canadian Thanksgiving. We celebrated it with one of our daughters and her friend who is British. They apparently don’t have an equivalent to actual Thanksgiving day and asked us about our tradition. Since we didn’t have pilgrims on eating terms with the native Americans I pretty much figured we were just copy-carting our neighbors to the south. But when I got home I looked it up and was surprised to find Canadian Thanksgiving isn’t even as old as I am.

Wikipedia says Jan. 31, 1957 parliament set it aside as “A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed – to be observed on the 2nd Monday in October. ”

Well, regardless, I am thankful to our Father in Heaven for a lot of things: family, friends, freedom, food . . . I could go on for a very long time. We, in Canada are truly blessed.

20111009-213114.jpg
Picture of wild turkeys I took while in Ontario