Daily Archives: October 11, 2011

Hard Sell

If you were wondering what happened to the Divorce Horse, well he’s working on winning me over but I have to admit I’m a hard sell on a 900 lb. horse with short legs. I swear those feet hit the ground twice to what a big horse’s do and with the distances I travel horseback that makes a huge difference on an old body like mine.

I knew he was sweet, but he’s darn sure brave too. Calves are getting big now and he held this one calmly. Still it’s not a yearling or, heaven forbid, a cow. Some of the cows here would outweigh him by twice. Yearlings would be about the same size. But he can hold a big calf, at least by a hind leg and he watches cattle like a hawk.

If he could run, he’d make an awesome little calf horse but I haven’t opened him up. I’m not one for that much speed. Or, he is so sweet and extremely calm, I could see a kid having lots of fun with this little horse. It’s too bad my granddaughters live so far away and the grandsons aren’t much interested in horses. It’ll be hard to sell this horse for what we paid for him, in my humble opinion. Craziness.